FEDERATION OF BROOMBALL ASSOCIATIONS OF ONTARIO



• APPENDIX E • F.B.A.O. ANNUAL AWARDS NIGHT BANQUET

FEDERATION OF BROOMBALL ASSOCIATIONS OF ONTARIO

Appendix E – F.B.A.O. Annual Awards Night Banquet

As of October 2023

AE1.0 PURPOSE

AE1.1 The purpose of the awards banquet is to allow the Federation to honour the people who not only excel at the sport of broomball, but also to honour the people who make the sport of broomball succeed.

AE2.0 DATE & LOCATION

- AE2.1 The Awards Banquet is held on the last weekend of April or the first weekend of the month of May, as part of the F.B.A.O. Annual General Meeting. The date will be determined by the F.B.A.O. at the previous year's A.G.M. (April 2015)
- AE2.2 The location of the Annual General Meeting and the Awards Banquet will be determined by the F.B.A.O. at the previous year's A.G.M.

AE3.0 FORMAT

AE3.1 The normal format for the evening is a social gathering at 6:00pm; a catered dinner; the presentation of Regional Awards; the presentation of the "Hall of Fame" award; and followed by a social gathering.

AE4.0 REGIONAL AWARDS

- AE4.1 Each Region will choose their Regional Award Winners for the following categories:
 - 1) Junior Female Player of the Year;
 - 2) Junior Male Player of the Year;
 - 3) Junior Coach of the Year;
 - 4) Volunteer of the Year
 - 5) Female Player of the Year;
 - 6) Male Player of the Year;
 - 7) Coach of the Year; and
 - 8) Official of the Year
- AE4.2 Each Region will submit the names, email address (or mailing address), and phone number of their winners by March 25th to the F.B.A.O. in order to allow for the ordering of Awards, and the notification to the winners for the Awards Banquet. Failure to comply with this deadline will result in only the minimum of eight (8) awards being ordered for the Region. A brief three (3) to four (4) line write-up for each of the Award Winners must be submitted by the Region to the F.B.A.O. no later than April 15th. Late write-ups may not be presented. (April 2015)

FEDERATION OF BROOMBALL ASSOCIATIONS OF ONTARIO

Appendix E – F.B.A.O. Annual Awards Night Banquet

As of October 2023

- AE4.3 Each Region must select an Award Winner in each of the eight (8) categories in order to be eligible to select any additional Award Winners. Only ONE (1) Extra Award Winner per category per Region may be requested by the Region. Regions requesting extra awards will be charged \$55.00 per award for every extra award, with the recipient in attendance. A charge of \$30.00 per award will be applied when the recipient is not in attendance; and has been confirmed two weeks prior to the event. (April 2015)
- AE4.4 Award Winners who do not attend will have only their category, name, and Region indicated in the program. All award winners will have their write-ups posted on the website following the Awards Banquet. (April 2015)

AE5.0 HALL OF FAME AWARDS

AE5.1 The Federation of Broomball Associations of Ontario honours individuals each year in recognition of their outstanding achievements and contributions to the sport of broomball.

In circumstances where those that nominate individuals are not comfortable with making a presentation at the Awards Banquet; then they can request that either an F.B.A.O. Executive member or Regional Director present the honour of their behalf. The nominator will however provide relevant information about the nominated individual.

- AE5.2 The new Inductees into the Hall of Fame will receive a free ticket to the Awards banquet.
- AE5.3 Past Hall of Fame Inductees will be invited to the Awards Banquet, with a free ticket.
- AE5.4 An adhoc Hall of Fame Committee shall be established to review potential inductees into the F.B.A.O. Hall of Fame due to the recent lack of candidates. The committee members will compile a list of potential candidates for nomination which includes builders, executive, players, coaches, and officials. The findings of the committee will be presented at the October Board of Director's Meeting.

The committee members whom are already in the Hall of Fame will be:

 Janet Buchanan, George Brown, Dave Charter, and Georgina Reynolds. (April 2018)